Want To Become The Next Prime Minister? Then Don't Be A Successful Chief Minister!

How to become a Prime Minister in India? Well, there are certain rules ofcourse which state that the candidate must be a citizen of India. He/She must be a member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha. Should be above 25 years of age if they're a member of the Lok Sabha, or, above 30 years of age if they are a member of Rajya Sabha.

Prime Ministers of India

A political part or an alliance with more than 272 MP's in the Lok Sabha will get to decide the Prime Minister of the country. If you would ask me a more easy way, I would suggest you to marry the Son/Daughter of a political heavyweight. It may sound impossible but it's the easier route. Just kidding.

Well, the history show you another way to be seated in one of the top seats in the nation,'' Don't become a successful Chief Minister! ''. Narendra Modi gets an exception from this rule. India had a view at a total of 15 Prime Minister's, Out of which only 6 were Chief Minister's.

List of Prime Ministers in India with their tenure in PM Office

1947-1988 Prime Minster's Run:

Jawaharlal Nehru was the first prime minister of India in 1947. Later, Lal Bahadur Shastri was elected as PM in 1964 who shortly passed away on 11 January,1966. Indira Gandhi then was elected as PM in 1966 and served till March 1977 making her the second longest serving PM of India after her father Jawaharlal Nehru.

Indira Gandhi lost the 1977 elections which were conducted after the end of Emergency. The Anti-Congress Parties united and formed The United Government Front which was a coalition of 13 political parties. A new government was formed under Moraji Desai and then Charan Singh which eventually led to a split due to internal clashes making Indira Gandhi the PM again.

Indira Gandhi

Same was the case during 1989-91 elections, personal ambitions of the political leaders and differences between Charan Singh, Devi Lal and Chandrashekar led India to have two Prime Ministers in a span of 18 months.

India then was witnessing the rise of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1996. The regional parties and Congress put their differences apart to counter the rise of BJP. The United Front came into power with the support of National Party Congress. India again saw two more PM's in a span of two years, Deve Gowda and IK Gujral. Elections were again held in 1998.

The Easy Way:

Conceivably, forming an United Front, i.e coalition of the regional parties is the way to get to the PM chair but the only is issue is the instability in the governance and having internal issues. In all the above mentioned years where the The United Government Front led the charge, the only reason the Government's fell apart was instability and having internal issues and not being able to keep intact the support a national party.

Chief Ministers like Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (TRS) and Mamatha Banerjee (TMC) have made individual efforts to have a shot at the PM seat but failed miserably. Given political scenario, it is really tough for the other political parties to take over BJP. With the brains of Amit Shah and Narendra Modi, BJP managed to create an organizational brick wall which other political parties are failing to climb. With the big brains working together, they together can take BJP over the line in 2024 elections.

Mamatha Banerjee and KCR

Isn't it interesting to know that none of the top 20 longest serving Chief Ministers were not able to become the Prime Ministers of the nation?

Here's the list of CM's who served as PM's in India:

1. Moraji Desai : Second Chief Minister of Bombay (1952-56)

Moraji Desai

2. Chaudhary Charan Singh : Was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh (1967-70)

Chaudhary Charan Singh

3. Vishwanath Pratap Singh : Was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh (1980-82)

Vishwanath Pratap Singh

4. PV Narsimha Rao : Was the Chief Minster of Andhra Pradesh (1971-73)

PV Narsimha Rao

5.HD Deve Gowda : Was the Chief Minister of Karnataka (1994-96)

HD Deve Gowda

6 Narendra Modi : Was the Chief Minister Gujarat (2001-14)

Narendra Modi